“Reggae Love Fest 2017” Concert Review

Sunday, Feb. 12, 2017 was the night of the 59th annual Grammy Awards, but it was also the night of the “Reggae Love Fest 2017” concert held at the Hard Rock Live in Orlando, Florida and features many up and coming reggae artists as well as major reggae artists such as NBC’s The Voice season 5 winner Tessanne Chin  and Freddie McGregor. Instead of watching the 2017 Grammy Awards like any other aspiring musician or singer would do, I went and watch a concert like any aspiring musician or singer would do.

tessanne-chin-winning-the-voice-650-430
NBC’s ‘The Voice’ Season 5 winner Tessanne Chin poses with her trophy – image: Dailymail.uk

I told my mom about this concert a month ago because her favorite The Voice winner was Tessanne Chin. My mom said we had to go, even though she’s not really into reggae music like that. It was a win-win for me because I just wanted to spend time with my mom.

We arrived right before doors opened, but the actual concert didn’t start til about two hours later. In that wait time I got myself a beer and a water for mama. Then the concert started and artist after artist performed. I was able to try out Facebook Live for the first time to let some of my friends watch the concert with me.

All of the artists were great in their own respective voice and style, but Tessanne definitely brought out the best vocals. She sang her single, “Fire”, which had that old school funk in it that I LOVE. Watch the video here off her VEVO channel on YouTube:

But what got me the most during the concert was her performance of Bob Marley’s ‘Redemption Song’, which she performed while competing on ‘The Voice’ and received standing ovation from everyone in the audience including her team celebrity judge, Adam Levine. This girl can SANG! Watch the video here from YouTube:

The concert was supposed to end at 10:30PM, but Tessanne didn’t even go on stage until about 10PM, so we were a little more than tired after her performance but it was worth the wait! *insert tired emoji here*

Cheers to a great concert by all the artists of this event and some great reggae music!

Leave a Reply

